Home > About

OPCC Committee Information

The Ontario Pulse Crop Committee (OPCC) co-ordinates the variety registration trials and variety performance trials for dry beans in Ontario.

The Ontario Dry Bean Tests are conducted annually by a combination of private and public trials. The purpose of these tests is to obtain agronomic, pest, disease, and quality information for use in supporting the registration of new dry bean varieties and in preparing an annual performance report of varieties in Ontario. 

The OPCC is composed of representatives of the public and private groups listed below. The representatives are elected into their roles by their organizations. A list of voting members can be found in Appendix B of the OPCC Guidelines. Voting and non-voting advisors from the Ontario dry bean industry attend OPCC meetings. 

  • Ontario Bean Growers (OBG) 
  • Seeds Canada
  • Ontario Agri-Business Association (OABA) – representing dry bean dealers
  • Variety Registration Office, Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA)
  • Canadian Seed Growers Association (CSGA)
  • Ontario Seed Growers Association (OSGA)
  • Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) – Field Crop Unit
  • Ridgetown Campus of the University of Guelph
  • Ontario Agricultural College (OAC) of the University of Guelph
  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)
  • Food Processors
  • Ontario Certified Crop Advisor Association (OCCAA)
  • Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association

The OPCC convenes twice each year. In early February the committee meets to discuss trial results and make decisions regarding support for registration of candidate cultivars. Testing procedures are reviewed, and reports are received from all sectors of the industry. A research day is typically held in conjunction with the annual meeting. 

At the second meeting, normally held in conjunction with the Ontario Dry Bean Variety Trial Tour in August, matters of current interest are reviewed including research findings and priorities. 

The meetings of the Ontario Pulse Committee and its subcommittees are open to all sectors of the industry. Only officially recognized members may make or vote on motions.